With the YDA 2022 entry deadline fast approaching on Monday 16 May we have been busy assembling the YDA 2022 jury. 


This year we are celebrating our 25th anniversary and we have handpicked a jury of elite professionals from all over the world. It is their task to uncover the best in a cutting-edge, new generation of filmmakers.


 In its infancy, the YDA was oriented towards commercial film production. Now, it has grown into an award with twenty different categories, from short-form student films, to documentaries and animation. 


Our 2022 Jury will be chaired by Anna Hashmi, Founder and Executive producer of The Corner Shop.

I was on the jury last year, and Gijs [Determeijer last year’s Chair] and Francois and his team selected a really smart and talented group of producers, directors and creatives from around the globe. It was interesting to see what resonated with people in different parts of the world, and how some films can just transcend all cultures and perspectives and be universally loved.

Anna Hashmi


There are still a few seats to be filled but we thought now would be a good time for you to see the jury (so far) who are going to be evaluating and discussing all your great work to eventually honour the very best with Gold and Silver Screen Awards.


 YDA 2022 JURY


Anna Hashmi, Founder and Executive Producer, The Corner Shop, US



Charlotte Marmion, Managing Director and Executive Producer, Iconoclast, France

Guneet Monga, Producer and CEO, Sikhya Entertainment, India

Nicky Barnes, Senior Executive Producer, Stink Films, US

Navi Lamba, Head of Comedy Talent Development, BBC, United Kingdom

Chrisitan Kroll, Creative Managing Director, Scholz & Friends, Germany

Flor Arrizabalaga, Managing Director and Executive Producer, Rebolucion, United Kingdom

Juliana Cobb, Executive Creative Director, Droga5 NYC, US

Kayode Kasum, Director and Producer, FilmTrybe Media, Nigeria

Evie Buckley, Digital Commissioning Editor for Entertainment and Youth Content, Channel 4, United Kingdom 

Wang Lu Ka, Producer and Founder, Shylight, China

Mpho Twala, Co-Owner, The Rudeboy Collective, South Africa

Mike Turoff, Head of Production, Passion Pictures, United Kingdom

Marco Perez, Film Editor at Union Editorial, US

Flora Fernandez Marengo, Founder and Executive Producer, Labhouse, Argentina

Kabelo Moshapalo, Chief Creative Officer, Ogilvy, South Africa

Franziska Gärtner, Development Producer, X Filme, Germany

He Fan, Prodcuer and Co-Founder, EnMaze Pictures, US

Michelle Savill, Director, Good Oil Films, New Zealand

Scott Smith, Executive Producer/Managing Partner, Radke Films, Canada

Rejane Bicca, Executive Director, O2 Filmes, Brazil

Philip Töpfer, Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Bonaparte, Germany

Katie Keith, Head of Production, Havas London and Global Head of Content, Havas Studios, UK

Luca Fanfani, Executive Producer, Mercurio Film, Italy

Esko Rips, Founder and Executive Producer, Nafta Films, Estonia

Hyung Joon Park, Executive Producer, Planit Production, South Korea

Melody Sylvester, Head of Film, Engine Creative, UK

Angus Kneale, Chief Creative, Preymaker, US

Sara Koppel, Founder of Koppel Animation & Naked Love Film, Denmark

Pablo Flehner, Director, Producer and Co-Founder, Akiracine, Colombia

Nicholas Berglund, Founder, NB:, based in Italy/France/Spain

Lyndy Stout, Editor and Curator, 1.4, UK

Adam Berg, Director, Sweden

Matthew Brown, Founder and Managing Partner, Knucklehead, UK

Magne Lyngner, Executive Managing Producer, Bacon, Norway

Stephanie Oakley, Director of Production, 72andSunny, The Netherlands

Sara Samsøe, Executive Producer and Head of Production at new—land, Denmark

Mona Lisa Farrokhnia, Senior Creative Producer at Creative X, Meta, US

Yoshiyuki Suzuki, Executive Officer / Managing Director / Executive Producer at AOI Pro, Japan

Loren Bradley, Executive Producer at FINCH, Australia

Jérôme Denis, Executive Producer/CEO of LA\PAC, France




Image: (From top left to bottom right, Anna Hashmi, Flor Arrizabalaga, Evie Buckley, Christian Kroll, Juliana Cobb and Kayode Kasum)




ENTER YDA 2022 FINAL Entry Deadline: 23 May

Other News

Winner Steve Bache talks Fatjona

Filmakademie director Steve Bache picked up a Gold Screen in the Film School category for their  More…

Bradford Young’s superhuman story

Bradford Young is a DoP with an amazing pedigree of work behind him and, more  More…

Katariina Aule takes us to see Heiki On The Other Side

Director Katariina Aule was awarded a Special Jury Prize in the Short Film category for her  More…

Thomas Deknop gives us the lowdown on Binge Loving

Director Thomas Deknop picked up a Special Jury Prize in the Short Film (6 to  More…

Directing quartet 4 THE COOL on striking Gold through father/son bonding

When directing brothers Michel & Nico decided to spend lockdown collaborating with their ten-year-old boys,  More…


On Thursday 23rd June 2022, the YDA celebrated its 25th Birthday in Cannes! We were  More…